Playlist for March 3, 2013

For today’s worship music, I chose a few songs based on the Psalms . You just can’t go wrong with “The Bible’s Hymnbook” as some often refer to the Psalms. I played Don Orthner’s “He Is Worthy” last Sunday as a guitar instrumental.  This Sunday, we sang it as a congregational hymn.  It was a great opening for our morning worship and is based on Psalm 22, 45, 72, and 110.  For the second congregational song, we sang “I Will Call Upon the LORD” which is a joyful and fun-to-sing chorus based on Psalm 18:3, 46.

For the offering, I played the quiet and meditative “Bless the LORD” on guitar. The words are from Psalm 103:1 and were projected on the screen while I played. The arrangement was from The Wilds Songbook (8th Edition).

Probably my favorite song of the day was “Abba, Father” by Ron Hamilton.  Sarah and I sang this as a duet to introduce it during the AM service.  Pastor John has been preaching an extensive series of sermons on the names of God.  “Abba, Father” was his PM sermon and this song was an obvious choice. It is a beautiful, prayerful song which captures the relationship between God our Heavenly Father and His children.  The congregation sang it together in the PM service. I think I first heard “Abba, Father” on the Patch the Pirate adventure: Once Upon a Starry Knight but you can also find it on I Saw Jesus in You: A Tribute to My Father.

Sunday School
Hymn – “I’ll Live for Jesus” (Paul Schultz)1

Morning Worship
Hymn – “He Is Worthy” (Don Orthner)2
Chorus – “I Will Call Upon the LORD” (Michael O’Shields)3
Offering – “Bless the LORD” (Psalm 103:1/Traditional)4
Special – “Abba, Father” (Ron Hamilton)5
The Lord’s Supper – “Spirit Medley” (George Croly/Frederick C. Atkinson, Daniel Iverson), “Hallelujah! What A Savior” (Phillip P. Bliss)6
Hymn – “To God Be the Glory” (Fanny J. Crosby/William H. Doane)1

Evening Worship
Hymn – “The Church’s One Foundation” (Samuel J. Stone/Samuel S. Wesley)7
Hymn – “One Day” (J. Wilbur Chapman/Charles H. Marsh)8
Offering – “I Sing the Mighty Power of God” (Isaac Watts/Gesangbuch der Herzogl)1
Hymn – “Abba, Father” (Ron Hamilton)3
Hymn – “Softly and Tenderly” (Will L. Thompson)8

Notes
1. Piano recording by Beth Lynch from The Wilds Songbook (8th Edition).
2. Piano recording by Glenn Christianson from The LORD My Shepherd CD.
3. Guitar accompaniment by Ken.
4. Guitar solo by Ken.
5. Vocal duet by Ken & Sarah with guitar accompaniment.
6. Guitar recording by Mathew Burtner from Hear My Prayer.
7. Piano recording by Worship Service Resources from Majestic Hymns.
8. Piano recording by Faith Music Missions from Evangelistic Congregational Hymns.

This entry was posted in Playlists. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment